General Pediatrics

The Divisions of General Pediatrics and Hospital Medicine operate under the leadership of Drs. Rita Mangione-Smith and Brian Johnston. The Division of General Pediatrics encompasses academic general pediatrics. It is one of the largest divisions in the Department of Pediatrics. Members of the division are involved with clinical care, teaching, advocacy, administration and research.

Our mission statement establishes our commitment to “improving the health of children by teaching and modeling the practice of general pediatrics, performing clinical research and promoting the role of the general pediatrician as a provider of primary care and advocate for children and their families.” Our vision is for the division to continue to be the best division of general pediatrics in the nation.

Members of the division provide inpatient and outpatient clinical care at several locations in Seattle: Seattle Children’s Hospital, University of Washington Medical Center Newborn Nursery, Pediatric Clinic at Harborview, UW Pediatric Care Clinic, Center for Adoption Medicine, Odessa Brown Children’s Clinic, UW Neighborhood Kent/Des Moines Clinic, Neighborcare – Meridian and Neighborcare – Columbia City.

Our faculty is heavily involved with running medical student programs for the University of Washington School of Medicine, the residency program for the Department of Pediatrics and fellowship training programs. The division has a large research portfolio and is a key part of the research programs at the Center for Child Health, Behavior and Development at Seattle Children’s Research Institute, the Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center and the Child Health Institute. The division also operates the Puget Sound Pediatric Research Network to collaborate with primary care pediatricians in the community to conduct important research on common clinical problems. Our advocacy activities are intimately linked with our clinical, teaching and research activities.



  • Tokunbo Akande, MB BS, MPH
  • Sarah Connell, MD
  • Caitlin Crumm, MD
  • Reza Sadeghian, MD


  • Christine Clare, division administrator