Maintenance of Certification Program (MOC)

Four Parts of MOC

The MOC process for the ABMS consists of four parts.

Part 1: Professionalism and Professional Standing

Hold a valid, unrestricted medical license and behave in a professional manner.

Part 2: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment

Participate in high-quality, unbiased educational and self-assessment activities determined by your member board. For pediatricians, these activities are developed by the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) and other organizations such as the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).

Part 3: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills

Demonstrate speciality-specific skills and knowledge by passing your member board–approved examination. Pediatricians must pass a secure examination administered at testing centers worldwide.

Part 4: Improvement in Medical Practice

Engage in ongoing assessment and improvement activities to improve patient outcomes.

Within this four-part framework, each member board has its own specific requirements, options for meeting them and timeframes in which they must be met. Seattle Children's MOC Program focuses on helping physicians meet requirements of Part 4.

For pediatricians

The American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) offers a number of pathways to earn Part 4 credits in addition to participation in projects approved by Seattle Children's Multi-Specialty Portfolio Program, including web modules, small group QI projects, PCMH certification and leading large QI efforts.