Skip to main content

Search
Facts and Stats

2003 Year in Review: Financial Summary

Expand Anchor Panel
|


Children's Health Care System*

 

Operating Revenues: Oct. 1, 2002 - Sep. 30, 2003 (Dollars in Thousands)
Sources of revenues$
Patient Service Revenues 318,418
Research and Other Government Grants29,919
Other Revenues 19,304
Unrestricted Donations and Restricted
Donations Used in Operations
22,387
Investment Income15,115
Total sources of revenues$405,143
Uses of revenues$
Uncompensated Care35,226
Salaries and Benefits 157,714
Supplies and Other Expenses 147,458
Depreciation and Interest 33,581
Provision for Renovation, New Equipment and New Programs 31,164
Total uses of revenues$405,143

* Children's Health Care System, a not-for-profit corporation, is the parent organization for Children's Hospital, Children's Hospital Foundation, Children's Hospital Guild Association, Children's Hospital Retail Division and HEALTHTEAM Northwest.

Children's Hospital Foundation, Guild Association and Retail

 

Operating Revenues: Oct. 1, 2002 - Sep. 30, 2003 (Dollars in Thousands)
Sources of revenues$
Fundraising Revenues and Support 40,889
Children’s Retail (net revenues from thrift stores) 249
Subtotal$41,138
Expenses$
Fundraising and Administrative Expenses(-)5,128
Total$36,010

Contributions to Children's

Sources of contributions (expressed as % of total $ received)

 

* This category includes donations from service groups (such as Elks, Kiwanis, Foresters) as well as workplace campaigns and non-guild special events.

Uses of contributions

Year in Review 2003 uses

Volunteers

An average of 1,372 people contributed time and services each month for a total of 124,873 person hours in 2003. Here's where they spent their time:

Year in Review 2003 volunteers

2003 Patient Statistics

 

Patient-Related Statistics
Category2003
Total patient visits206,740
Appointments in our outpatient clinics159,769
Visits to the emergency room27,785
Admissions to the hospital11,425
Short-stay visits7,761
Inpatient surgeries6,731
Outpatient surgeries7,032
Patient beds208

Where our patients come from

Year in Review 2003 patients

Staff Statistics

 

Number of Active Staff as of Dec. 31, 2003
Category2003
Active staff employed at Children's3,006
Temporary employees83
Hospital-based physicians420
Private-practice providers414
Total active medical staff834

Latest News

The Fault in “The Fault in Our Stars”
7.24.14 — On the Pulse Blog

I loved “The Fault in Our Stars.” Both the book and the movie. I read the book a few years ago during a flight. I cried so hard ... cont.

Doctor uses scorpion venom to locate cancer cells
7.23.14 — FOX News

Dr. James Olson is a pediatric oncologist at Seattle Children’s, and the scientist who developed a compound using a protein ... cont.

Boy healing quickly after heart transplant
7.22.14 — The Columbian

In less than two weeks, Jack Conover went from being a 7-year-old in need of a heart transplant to a vibrant boy walking out of ... cont.